Sleepover Madness

main_image_get-attachment.aspx

The word that strikes fear into the hearts of men:

Sleepover.

As soon as my husband figured out (I kept it from him for as long as possible) that we were having a birthday sleepover for Adelaide’s 6th birthday, he said, “Um… I think I have some work to do that night. Yep, I’m pretty sure I’m busy.” Then he proceeded to disappear for the evening.

Even Adelaide’s 3-year-old brother had to flee the scene, albeit for different reasons. Adelaide wanted him gone because she didn’t want him around her friends all night “bugging us and breaking our stuff and picking his nose.”

It’s hard to argue against that logic. So Jed spent the night with Grammie and Grampie. He had a good old time catching frogs, playing ball, and doing other boy-type things. But that was fine, because at our house, we had a nice, girly time.

Since the weather was beautiful, everyone stayed outside until almost 8:00pm. There was much hose-squirting, playhouse-playing, swinging, racing, and swimming in the baby pool (I think kids would swim in a dishpan full of water and be happy about it.) No one had brought a swimsuit, but since we always maintain an unnatural overage of suits at our house, everyone found one that fit.

Oh, and there was squealing. Did I mention the squealing? There was lots of that.

After races, chases, and numerous other games I was unable to figure out the premise of, the girls had a picnic outside. Then they came in for presents. One little girl cracked me up when she said, “I hope you like your present, Adelaide, because my mom went out and bought it without my consent.” One of the best things about hosting sleepovers is overhearing all of the things that little girls say. My other favorite quote of the night was from Adelaide’s little friend Caroline: “Wow! That doll looks ferocious!”

Adelaide loved sitting in “the birthday chair” and opening all of her presents. She had been anxiously awaiting the one from her Grandma – a brand new handmade Dorothy dress just her size (with a little room to grow into.) She had outgrown the one her Grandma made for her 4th birthday and had unsuccessfully been trying to stuff herself into it like a plump little sausage. Now that she has a new one, the old dress has been relegated to Adelaide’s bedroom where she sleeps with it under her pillow.

Next, we headed to the kitchen for cute purple and pink kitty cat plates, pink lemonade, and cupcakes. Adelaide flatly refused to put on her party hat before she blew out her candles. According to her, the hat would make her look like “a weirdo clown.”

The weirdo clown comment prompted much girly discussion which was followed by a zombie-face-making contest. Who knew that such cute little girls could make such hideous zombies?

Then it was movie time. Everyone decided on Lady and the Tramp II (I didn’t even know there was a Lady and the Tramp II) and it was a huge hit.

Next was what I like to call “the teeth-brushing bedtime shuffle.” If you’ve ever had kids sleep over at your house, you know exactly what I mean.

Surprisingly, everyone settled down fairly quickly after that and they were all asleep by midnight. I checked on them and heard snoring (which I’m pretty sure wasn’t fake, but I’ve been fooled before.)

Basically, the whole thing went off without a hitch. No one cried or got hurt. There wasn’t even any drama – which never happens when you have 7 little girls under the age of 10 in the same house!

It went so well, as a matter of fact, that we might have another one for my soon-to-be-9-year-old’s birthday which is only a month from now!

But I’m not going to tell my husband that.

Even though he could he could probably use the overtime anyway.

Leave a Reply

